Saturday, August 4, 2007

Adult or No?



This, my friends, is the event. I argued with my parents through e-mail correspondence tonight. They seem to think I am still a kid, and find it bitterly ironic that I want to be treated like an adult. In my case, I am on loans that they co-signed for school, but I will be the one paying back that $10,000, and every loan to follow. I borrow their old cars, always paying my own insurance. I pay my own bills-- telephone, credit cards, fees for participation in events. If I want to go out, it is all my own money, even in the case of travel, i.e. my trip to Georgia, or the loan that might take me to study in France in the future. And when I am home, I help out, cook, clean, spend hours with my brothers, and still try to abide by their strict curfews (sometimes as early as 10:30pm.) The curfew aspect is especially fun since I usually wait until after my brothers go to sleep to go out. (8pm-10:30pm being my evening outing time.) I feel like an adult. After all for my 18th birthday, with my college opp classes, I received 3 final exams, two bills due, and two important extra-curricular meetings all in the same day. Has anyone else had difficulty with the transition? Are you a kid or an adult in your parents eyes? And how does it make you feel?Me, I feel belittled... in the worst way.